Microsoft 10 killed my laptop. My aging computer simply died from update-itis. I have been without a computer for almost a week. I have occasionally used Gary’s computer as I am doing now, but the lack of my own device has made me realize just how much I depend on all these applications as more:

Word: I am a writer. I write something nearly every day.

Face Book: Gary had to tell me that our granddaughter Julia Evans had won a piano competition that would enable her to play Rachmaninoff’s Second Piano Concerto with the Germantown Symphony Orchestra in Tennessee where the Evans live. It’s such a prestigious event that we are unsurprised but overwhelmed. We’ll do all we can to be there in late October or early November when they announce the date.

I keep up with family by Face Book. Although I write a weekly blog, they do not. I have to glean the news by daily sessions at my computer. I have friends from all over the world who are still friends because they keep me aware of events in their lives.

Google: How many times a day do I wonder about something? I have been trying to write a poem and have gotten out my old hard back thesaurus and rhyming dictionary. How tedious they are to use. I can’t easily find information about this world without my computer with its access to any information from ancient Israel’s kings to the voice of Moana in the Disney movie. I look up recipes, take out Kindle books, send e-mail greetings through Blue Mountain, view Pinterest and buy from Amazon.

Indexing: I index names from old documents daily to provide computer access to information to those looking for the names of ancestors. Can’t do that without my computer. It’s a good thing I got a little ahead in my daily goal of batches to index because I would be woefully behind by now.

Transactions: I have saved information in “One Note” that keeps track of various on-line purchases as well as Cub Scout activities and projects. I can find a history of the interactions I have had with family or with our accountant. I bank and pay bills on line.

Entertainment: I love the videos featuring animals I receive from Seattle. I get memes from a friend in California and wise advice from Washington State. Inspiring thoughts, quirky sayings, belly laughs, gorgeous photographs, heartwarming stories and views of natural wonders all come to my computer through various aspects of the internet.

What I skip: Most ads, games, background music programs, side-bar come-ons such as “The career of _____ is over because . . . .” or “She erased her wrinkles in one week.” I hate it when I succumb to a come-on then find I can’t get out of the program. I despise long, long “infomercials” that end up saying nothing because you have to buy the book or subscribe.

But mostly, I am dependent upon that keyboard, monitor, and printer that make life so much easier. My backup battery keeps the machine on during a power outage, and my mouse enables it all. The happy news is that Gary has spent all last week getting the data off the corpse of my laptop onto a desk top that is new to me and wireless. He has carefully gone over and edited 185,000 files to help me find the past more easily. Soon I’ll have that now essential power of the computer whenever I need it, and that is often. PMA