large_dna_strand_3dLast week’s letter spoke of the effect of DNA on me when I meet family members who share my DNA. This week I want to respond to a comment by my sister-in-law: “I have been told that it [DNA] is genetic memory and even if the scientists cannot find it yet, our souls know what is there. That is why you feel your ’magnetic pull’ with certain people. . . . Our pre-existent memory is stored there. Have you ever met someone and were immediately drawn to them with no particular cause? I think that is two souls recognizing each other” (Susan Elder).

 

When we marry, half the family usually doesn’t carry our DNA. Each child’s genetic material is apportioned differently through the process of reproduction. Only identical twins are exactly the same in DNA, although it quickly becomes apparent that such twins have individual spirits. An adopted child can pick up similarities with parents without sharing genetic material. Love can build between people who don’t even speak the same language, believe in different deities (or none) and have few societal similarities.

 

To discover our DNA makeup can be surprising, humbling and moving. I am looking forward to the return of my results. In the meantime, however, I am loving the people in my neighborhood, interested in people on line and greatly concerned about refugees, those who are starving, the oppressed of the world even though there is no real chance that I will ever meet them. Human DNA matters. We are brothers and sisters, children of a loving Heavenly Father and Mother. They gave spirit bodies to “intelligences,” uncreated, eternal matter, unique and precious. Now there’s the reason for our ties to everyone ever born: Eternal DNA. PMA